Senior students working in a classroom

The IB Diploma Programme
Grade 11 & 12

Preparing for Success at University & Beyond

Meadowridge is proud to offer the International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma Programme (DP) for grades 11 and 12. The DP is an academically challenging and balanced program that prepares students for success at university and in life beyond. It has been designed to address the intellectual, social, emotional, and physical well-being of students.

Interested in applying?
Inquire Online

The IB Diploma Programme Model

The International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma Program is made up of multiple elements, all working together to create a comprehensive, academically rigorous, and rewarding Grade 11 and 12 program.

Click the + on the model graphic to learn more about each section.

Meadowridge offers both of the IB Honours Programs: IB Course & IB Diploma

So what's the difference?
Based on academic suitability or demands of external commitments, our students may complete the full Diploma Programme or IB Course Certificates. Concurrently, each student is earning the Provincial Dogwood Diploma, the High School graduation certificate issued by the BC Ministry of Education.

IB Course Students have the option of choosing only Standard Level (SL) Courses, but can choose up to two Higher Level (HL) courses. Having the option to take the IB Course Certificate gives students who are heavily involved in extra-curricular activities (sports, dance, music, etc.) the chance to follow their passions while still graduating with an IB designation.

IB Diploma Students must take three Higher Level (HL) Courses among their six courses. as well as the "Core" of the DP, the Extended Essay, Theory of Knowledge, and Creativity, Activity, Service requirements. Learn more about the Core of DP →

IB Diploma students complete three "Core" components that their IB Course peers will not:

Grade 11/12 Course Selection

All IB Diploma courses span over the 2 years of Grade 11 and 12. Beginning in Grade 11 students choose one subject for each of the six academic groups:

  1. Studies in Language & Literature
  2. Language Acquisition
  3. Individuals & Societies
  4. Sciences
  5. Mathematics
  6. The Arts

Explore the Courses Offered in Each Academic Group

During this time, they will also decide if they would like to pursue the IB Diploma Program or the IB Course Certificate; regardless of which route they elect to pursue, all Meadowridge students are enrolled in an Honours Program.

IB Diploma students take three subjects at Higher Level (HL), with the remaining subjects taken at Standard Level (SL). If a student opts to pursue the IB Course Certificate, they may take all subjects at SL, or take one to two HL courses.

What's the difference between an IB Standard Level (SL) and Higher Level (HL) Course?

Both SL and HL courses are considered honours level courses with a difference in scope and depth of subject.

In HL courses students are expected to demonstrate a greater body of knowledge, understanding, and skills on the course subject. As well, HL courses involve more hours of instruction and study, which is why the number of HL courses one student can take is limited.

Some Post-Secondary Institutions and programs offer university credit when a high grade level is achieved in an HL course. 

Grade 11/12 SL & HL Courses